logo aisa

Margaret Sanders International Scholarship

The annual Margaret Sanders International Scholarship is open to graduating high school students from AISA full member schools. The scholarship provides financial support for the graduate to attend college or university (must be a 501 (c)(3), U.S. chartered, degree-granting institution) and may cover a broad range of educational expenses such as tuition, room and board, books, computers and the like.

Award maximum: To be determined by the Margaret Sanders Foundation each year (normally around US$5,000)

Selection Process and Timeline

Full Member AISA schools are invited to submit one student for consideration of the scholarship opportunity.

Scholarship details and the application form can be found on the AAIE website here.

AAIE will forward all applications received from the region to the AISA Board who will choose one student to represent the AISA region. This applicant will then compete with candidates in other regions for this prestigious international award.

Applications are due with AAIE on 15 November.

Winners will be notified on 15 December with awards presented at the annual AAIE Conference in February. 

Nomination Guidelines

The scholarships will be awarded to the students who demonstrate character strengths such as persistence and motivation, resourcefulness, and acceptance of other cultures and points of view.

The nominated students should also display a genuine interest in, and sustained commitment to the welfare of others, as reflected through participation in school activities, and community/civic involvement.

Factors considered in the selection process include:

  • academic achievement,
  • financial need, and
  • higher education and vocational aspirations that will impact future improvements within local and global communities
  • leadership and service contributions that directly address community and societal needs and solutions 

Nominating students must:

  • Be enrolled at an AISA Full Member school in good standing
  • Be in their senior year of high school
  • Be endorsed and recommended by their school 
  • Have applied to a qualifying 501 (c)(3), U.S. chartered, degree-granting institution

Recognising Past Winners

AISA would like to acknowledge the following winners of this prestigious award:

  • 2016/17 - Keitumetse Malatsi, American International School Johannesburg
  • 2015/16 - Kedest Mathewos, International Community School Addis Ababa
  • 2014/15 - Sharon Bosire, Brookhouse
  • 2013/14 - Catherine Namwezi, International School of Uganda

For more information about this award contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.