logo aisa

AISA Award for Excellence

AISA established the AISA Award for Excellence in 2008 as a way of recognising and rewarding the achievements of outstanding students within the AISA network. Successful nominees are students who have attained high academic results, but just as importantly, whose character exemplifies the association’s values.

Nominations for this award are due no later than March 1st of each year with the AISA Board confirming the successful candidates at the March board meeting. Schools are then free to award recipients of the AISA Award for Excellence at end of year school celebrations.

AISA values are demonstrated by those who:

  • Promote a school environment that is characterized by a sense of hospitality and friendliness, collegiality and community among students and between students and staff.
  • Demonstrates by example the concept of service to the human family either within or outside the school environment.
  • Seeks to understand, appreciate and promote African cultures through service activities, participation in cultural events, or personal expression through African literature, languages, music, art or dance.
  • Embraces a world view which celebrates human unity and diversity. This trait could be demonstrated through service activities, or student activities, cultural events, membership in clubs or organizations within or outside of school, academic projects, or any form of artistic expression.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Each AISA Full Member school is invited to nominate one student each year to be considered for this award.
  • The deadline for submission of your school nominee is Match 1st
  • Award recipients will be confirmed by the AISA Board 
  • A plaque and a letter will be sent to the school head to be presented to the award recipient at the school year-end ceremony.

Click here to nominate a student from your school.

2016/17 Winners

Winners of the award in the 2016/2017 academic year are:

  • Stella Njoroge, International School of Kenya
  • Fawzia Mohamed Omer, Khartoum American School
  • Bianca Darkoa, Amoabeng Ghana International School
  • Sarah Khaki, International School Moshi
  • Bilngwe Ngwakum Akisa, American International School of Lusaka
  • Benjamin Hotchner-Blaser, International School of Tanganyika
  • Hulda Abudo, American International School of Mozambique
  • Chumani Mokoena, American International School of Johannesburg
  • Paolo Nasr, Lincoln Community School
  • Jorgo Tesfa, International Community School of Addis Ababa
  • Takudzwa Marwendo, Harare International School


2015/16 Winners

Winners of the award in the 2015/2016 academic year are:

  • Alexander Alverson, International School of Kenya (ISK)
  • Eve Coulibaly, International School of Ouagadougou (ISO)
  • Caio Silveira da Rocha, American International School of Mozambique (AISM)
  • Dominique Cottrell, American International School of Lusaka (AISL)
  • Nada Motasim Daoud, Khartoum International Community School (KICS)
  • Revogatus Tesha, International School of Moshi (ISM)
  • Nardos Ayana Kebede, International Community School of Addis Ababa (ICS, Addis)
  • Rubeena Zaveri, Harare International School (HIS)
  • Brianna Boadi, Ghana International School (GIS)
  • Jisoo Shin, International Community School of Abidjan (ICS Abidjan)

2014/15 Winners

Winners of the award in the 2014/2015 academic year are:

  • Charles Chansa, American International School Lusaka
  • Michaela Sorensen, American International School Mozambique
  • Komal Mudher, International School Moshi
  • Elizabeth Gibbs, International School of Ouagadougou
  • Andrew Teye, Lincoln Community School

For more information about this award contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.